Three past winners make the esteemed Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist

Miles Franklin longlist 2018

Perpetual Private Insights

printer icon Adobe PDF icon

Three former winners of the Miles Franklin Literary Award have been named on the 2018 Longlist.  Peter Carey, Michelle de Kretser and Kim Scott are joined by eight other authors, all of whom have received numerous literary accolades throughout their careers, making the 2018 longlist a remarkable collection of Australian stories.

Perpetual, the trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, today announced eleven authors will be competing for the rich literary prize of $60,000, arguably the most prestigious literary accolade in Australia.  

The Miles Franklin Literary Award was established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin. Patrick White, the first winner of Australia’s most prestigious literature prize was crowned in 1957 with Voss, and since then the Miles Franklin Literary Award has presented more than $1.1 million to Australian authors.

The Award shines light on some of Australia’s most talented writers, and while the prize has been given to a truly wide scope of novels, it has always remained true to the terms of Miles Franklin’s will; to be of the highest literary merit and presenting Australian life in any phase.

The 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist is:




Peter Carey

A Long Way from Home

Penguin Random House

Felicity Castagna

No More Boats

Giramondo Publishing

Michelle de Kretser

The Life to Come

Allen & Unwin

Lia Hills

The Crying Place

Allen & Unwin

Eva Hornung

The Last Garden

Text Publishing

Wayne Macauley

Some Tests

Text Publishing

Catherine McKinnon


HarperCollins Publishers

Gerald Murnane

Border Districts

Giramondo Publishing

Jane Rawson

From the Wreck

Transit Lounge

Michael Sala

The Restorer

Text Publishing

Kim Scott


Picador Australia (Pan Macmillan Australia)

“The longlist for the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2018 spans many genres of the novel: historical, fantastical, realist, satirical, allegorical and autobiographical,” said Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian of the State Library of NSW and head of the Award judging panel.  “The books take us back in time to consider the effects of the past, or address the issues of contemporary life, or give glimpses of an uncertain, even frightening future.”

“Whether dealing with disconnection, dispossession, the many varieties of grief and its resolutions, the violence done to those close or those unknown, or the deeper questions of existence, the eleven longlisted novels engage and reward the reader,” added Neville.

Joining Richard Neville on the judging panel is The Australian journalist and columnist, Murray Waldren, book critic Dr Melinda Harvey, Sydney-based bookseller, Lindy Jones and Emeritus Professor, Susan Sheridan.

Perpetual’s National Manager of Philanthropy, Caitriona Fay, commended the longlisted authors.

“The authors named on this year’s longlist represent some of Australia’s most talented and provocative novelists. For more than 60 years, the Miles Franklin Literary Award has been supporting authors and helping to foster a uniquely Australian literature.

“The Award is a testament to the generosity of Miles Franklin and shows the difference one person can make to a community. Perpetual is proud to support Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. It’s a great example of how, with management, philanthropic donations can grow well beyond their original intentions.,” added Fay.

Some of the notable winners of the Miles Franklin Literary Award include: Tim Winton with Breath (2009), Dirt Music (2002), Cloudstreet (1992) and Shallows (1984).  Winton shares the crown for most wins with Thea Astley for Drylands (2000), The Acolyte (1972), The Slow Natives (1965) and The Well Dressed Explorer (1962). Peter Carey has won three times for Jack Maggs (1998), Oscar and Lucinda (1989) and Bliss (1981), and Kim Scott twice for That Deadman Dance (2011) and Benang (2000).

The shortlisted finalists will be revealed on Sunday, 17 June at the Annual Australian Booksellers Association (ABA) Gala Dinner in Canberra.  The winner announcement will be made on Sunday, 26 August in Melbourne.

See the 2018 Miles Franklin Longlist here