What can we help you find?
Search by Topic

Your search had no results

Please try the following to find what you’re looking for:

  • Check your spelling
  • Try different words or word combinations (E.g. "fund form")

Perpetual announces shortlist for prestigious Miles Franklin Literary Award

Download a PDF of this Article
Print this page

Today, the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund, alongside award trustee Perpetual, announced the 2022 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist featuring five exceptional titles.  The announcement was broadcast nationally.

The 2022 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist is:



This year the shortlist includes an author of a self-published title, a past Miles Franklin winner and three established authors. They will be competing for one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Australia, with the winner receiving $60,000.

“The outstanding feature of this year’s Miles Franklin shortlist is the range of dynamic and diverse voices that address the experience of pain, intergenerational trauma and intergenerational dialogue with compassion, exceptional craft and rigorous unsentimentality,” said Richard Neville, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian and Chair of the judging panel. 

Joining Mr Neville on the judging panel is author and literary critic, Dr Bernadette Brennan; literary scholar, Dr Mridula Nath Chakraborty; book critic, Dr James Ley; and author and editor, Dr Elfie Shiosaki.

Copyright Agency’s CEO, Josephine Johnston, said, “This year’s Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist showcases some of our most talented and respected writers whose vibrant voices inspire and challenge our views of Australian life. We welcome the opportunity to celebrate the immense breadth of literary endeavour and our unique stories. Congratulations to all the shortlisted writers!”

Each of the 2022 shortlisted authors will receive $5,000 from the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund.



Join the Miles Franklin conversation on social media:

Twitter: @_milesfranklin

Instagram: @milesfranklinliteraryaward

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MilesFranklinLiteraryAwardwww.facebook.com/MilesFranklinLiteraryAward


Join the Miles Franklin conversation

Get all the latest updates about the Miles Franklin Literary Award via social media.

Perpetual’s Philanthropic Services are provided by Perpetual Trustee Company Limited (PTCo), ABN 42 000 001 007, AFSL 236643. This webpage has been prepared by PTCo and may contain information contributed by third parties. It contains general information only and is not intended to provide you with advice or take into account your personal objectives, financial situation or needs. The information is believed to be accurate at the time of compilation and is provided by PTCo in good faith. You should consider whether the information is suitable for your circumstances and we recommend that you seek professional advice. To the extent permitted by law, no liability is accepted for any loss or damage as a result of any reliance on this information. PTCo does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any wording in this document which was contributed by a third party. View the Perpetual Group's  Financial Services Guide.