The Miles Franklin Literary Award is given to a novel of the highest literary merit that presents Australian life in any of its phases.

Publishers are required to submit novels on behalf of an author.  All works must be in English.  Works written by two or more authors are eligible for entry.

Biographies, collections of short stories, children’s books and poetry are not eligible for this award. Judges will not consider any text which has only had internet publication.

For further information on eligibility and criteria, please refer to the 2022 Miles Franklin Award Guidelines.

Entries for the 2022 award are now open and will close on 10 December 2021. Apply here.


2022 Award 
1 October 2021 Open for entries
10 December 2021 Entries Close
May 2022 Longlist announcement
June 2022 Shortlist announcement
July 2022 Winner announcement

Miles Franklin Award


Get all the latest updates about the Miles Franklin Literary Award via social media. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.