The Miles Franklin Literary Award is given to a novel of the highest literary merit that presents Australian life in any of its phases.

Publishers are required to submit novels on behalf of an author.  All works must be in English.  Works written by two or more authors are eligible for entry.

Biographies, collections of short stories, children’s books and poetry are not eligible for this award. Judges will not consider any text which has only had internet publication.

For further information on eligibility and criteria, please refer to the 2020 Miles Franklin Award Guidelines.

2020 Award

Applications for the 2020 award are now closed.


2020 Award 
1 October 2019 Applications Open
6 December 2019 Applications Close
May 2020* Longlist announcement
June 2020* Shortlist announcement
July 2020* Winner announcement

*Dates subject to change
Miles Franklin Award


Get all the latest updates about the Miles Franklin Literary Award via social media. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.