The Miles Franklin Literary Award is given to a novel of the highest literary merit that presents Australian life in any of its phases.

Publishers are required to submit novels on behalf of an author.  All works must be in English.  Works written by two or more authors are eligible for entry.

Biographies, collections of short stories, children’s books and poetry are not eligible for this award. Judges will not consider any text which has only had internet publication.

For further information on eligibility and criteria, please refer to the 2017 Miles Franklin Award Guidelines.

Applications for the 2017 award are now closed


2017 Award 
31 October 2016 Applications Open
9 December 2016 Applications Close
2 May 2017 Longlist announcement
18 June 2017 Shortlist announcement
September 2017  Winner announcement


The terms of Miles Franklin’s will set out the first judging panel for the Award. It was to include the then Mitchell Librarian at the State Library of New South Wales; two representatives of Angus & Robertson publishers, Beatrice Davis and Colin Roderick; the poet Ian Mudie and George Williams, Miles’ accountant.

Traditionally, the serving Mitchell Librarian has always been a fixture on the panel. Other vacancies are filled by recommendations from past judges, in consultation with the Award’s trustees, Perpetual as Trustee.

2017 judges

Miles Franklin Richard Neville

Richard Neville is Mitchell Librarian at the State Library of NSW and Chair of the Judging Panel.

Miles FranklinMelinda Harvey

Melinda Harvey is Lecturer in Literary Studies at Monash University and Director of its Centre for the Book. She has worked as a book critic since 2004, reviewing for publications such as The Australian, Australian Book Review, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and the Sydney Review of Books. She has appeared on ABC Radio National and at the Melbourne Writers Festival and Emerging Writers’ Festival.

Miles FranklinLindy Jones

Lindy Jones has worked as a bookseller since 1995, and for Abbey’s Bookshop in Sydney since 1999. Her degree is in English and History, with an Australian focus, and she has maintained a vital interest in Australian writing, for both adults and children.

She has participated in panels for the Australian Book Industry Awards, judged the non-fiction category of the Indie Awards for six years, contributed to all three editions of a bestselling guide to children’s literature and was the inaugural recipient of the Text/Australian Booksellers’ Association Senior Bookseller of the Year in 2011.

Miles Franklin Susan Sheridan

Susan Sheridan is Professor Emerita in Humanities at Flinders University and was previously Head of the Women’s Studies Department at Flinders University. She has published widely on Australian cultural history and women’s writing, including the books Christina Stead (1988), Along the Faultlines: Australian  Women’s Writing 1890s to 1930s (1995) and Nine Lives: Postwar Women Writers Making their Mark (2011).

She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities, elected 2003. She was foundation Review Editor of Australian Feminist Studies (1985 – 2005) and has served on judges’ panels for the ASAL Gold Medal, the Commonwealth Writers Prize and the SA Premier’s Literary Awards.

Miles Franklin Murray Waldren

Murray Waldren has been a journalist and columnist at The Australian newspaper for 25 years, where his roles have included Literary Editor, editor of The Weekend Australian Review and deputy editor of The Australian Magazine.

His literary rap sheet includes extensive author profiles and interviews, book reviews, publishing analysis and columns, he has been a Walkley Award finalist for feature writing and has written several books, among them Dining out with Mr Lunch, Moran V Moran and, most recently, The Mind and Times of Reg Mombassa.

He has been a regular panellist and session coordinator at national literary festivals, is currently a judge for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and has been on judging panels for The Australian /Vogel's Award, the NSW Premiers Award and the ABC Fiction Award. He also compiles the Literary Liaisons website. 

Miles Franklin Award


Get all the latest updates about the Miles Franklin Literary Award via social media. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.