MEDIA RELEASE

3 April 2014

Miles Franklin longlist showcases richness of Australian literature

As Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, The Trust Company, part of Perpetual, has today announced the 2014 longlist with acclaimed Australian authors and a new generation of novelists all vying for the \$60,000 prize.

The Award is regarded as Australia's most prestigious literature prize, having been established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin. First awarded in 1957, the Award is presented each year to the novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

The longlist includes two debut novelists and two past winners.

The 2014 longlist is:

Tracy Farr - The Life And Loves Of Lena Guant Richard Flanagan - The Narrow Road to the Deep North Ashley Hay - The Railwayman's Wife Melissa Lucashenko - Mullumbimby Fiona McFarlane - The Night Guest Nicolas Rothwell - Belomor Trevor Shearston - Game Cory Taylor - My Beautiful Enemy Tim Winton - Eyrie Alexis Wright - The Swan Book Evie Wyld - All The Birds, Singing

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian, Richard Neville, said the strength and diversity of this year's entrants is testament to the depth and breadth of Australian literary talent.

"With 53 submissions received, the 2014 Miles Franklin Literary Award has once again cemented itself as a pre-eminent award within the national arts community. Whittling the entries down to 11 for the longlist was both rewarding and challenging due to the high calibre of submissions.

"From acclaimed former Miles Franklin winners to exciting new voices, this year's longlist reflects the great strength, variety and richness of current Australian fiction," he said.

Richard Neville is joined on the judging panel by The Australian journalist and columnist, Murray Waldren, Sydney-based bookseller, Anna Low, biographer, book historian, publishing editor, and Queensland Writers Centre founding chair Craig Munro and Emeritus Professor, Susan Sheridan.

Perpetual's General Manager of Philanthropy, Andrew Thomas, said the Award continues to celebrate the literary works of talented individuals and that Perpetual is proud to be involved in the drive to support Australian literature.

"Perpetual congratulates all of the longlisted authors who epitomise the great talent which exists within the Australian literary world.

"Miles Franklin was passionate about Australian literature and as guardians of her legacy, we are delighted to see the quality of work which continues to promote Australian literature," he said.

The Miles Franklin 2014 shortlist will be announced at a public event at the State Library of New South Wales on Thursday 15 May 2014, with the winner to be announced on Thursday 26 June 2014.

ENDS