MEDIA RELEASE

26 March 2013

Female authors dominate 2013 Miles Franklin longlist

The Trust Company, as Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award has today announced the 2013 longlist.

Recognised as Australia's most prestigious literary award, this year's longlist announced via social media sees the largest number of female authors selected since the longlist was first introduced in 2005.

From an original list of 73 novels, half of which were written by female authors, the Judges have selected 10 novels for the 2013 longlist.

It includes eight female authors, five first time novelists, four previously shortlisted authors and one former double Miles Franklin Literary Award winner.

The 2013 longlist is:

Romy Ash – Floundering

Lily Brett – Lola Bensky

Brian Castro – Street to Street

Michelle de Kretser – Questions of Travel

Annah Faulkner – The Beloved

Tom Keneally - The Daughters of Mars

Drusilla Modjeska - The Mountain

M.L.Stedman - The Light Between Oceans

Carrie Tiffany – Mateship with Birds

Jacqueline Wright - Red Dirt Talking

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian, State Library of NSW said: "This year we have seen one of the highest number of entries indicating the robust strength of new fiction. From those 73 books the judges have selected ten outstanding novels for this year's longlist.

"These range from conventional to multiple narratives, with settings as diverse as a lonely lighthouse, battlefield hospitals on the Western Front, colonial Papua New Guinea, the dusty outback and the inner city. The list provides a feast of reading, including close encounters with a polio-stricken girl determined to be an artist, a young boy kidnapped by his runaway mother, an unexpected shipwreck adoption, a family of kookaburras, a rock journalist and a famously shambolic poet."

Joining Richard on the panel is Murray Waldren, journalist and columnist at The Australian newspaper, Anna Low, a Sydney-based bookseller and two newly appointed judges; Craig Munro, biographer, book historian and publishing editor as well as the founding chair of the Queensland Writers Centre and Susan Sheridan, Adjunct Professor in English and Women's Studies at Flinders University, Adelaide.

Simon Lewis, Head of Philanthropy and Community at The Trust Company said :"We are delighted with the strength and quality of applications this year. Congratulations to all the longlisted authors. With the \$60,000 increased prize money and our Miles of Reading Challenge launched last week, 2013 is an exciting year for the Miles Franklin as we look to actively enhance the legacy Miles Franklin entrusted us with.

"We are calling for people to get more involved then ever before. Pick up a book and support Australian literature, and have your say by writing your own review. Our online discussion forum provides a wonderful opportunity for book lovers across Australia to get involved."

The Miles of Reading Challenge encourages Australians to support Australian literature by reading at least one novel from the longlist and the trustee is now calling for the public to submit their own reviews of longlist novels via the Miles of Reading online forum for the chance to win copies of Miles Franklin's celebrated novels.

The Challenge includes an interactive online discussion forum supported by the Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund and Griffith REVIEW, and has been endorsed by 2012 Miles Franklin winner, Anna Funder.

Griffith REVIEW will be providing exclusive online reviews of the longlisted novels by some of Australia's most high profile authors through to the winner's announcement on 19 June in Canberra. These, along with information on the individual books and publisher reading notes on the Miles Franklin website will promote discussion between book lovers and assist with making these novels more accessible to a broader audience. The Trust Company will also promote the Challenge through Australia's library networks.

The Miles Franklin 2013 shortlist will be announced at a public event at the State Library of New South Wales on Tuesday 30 April 2013. The winner announcement will take place in Canberra on Wednesday 19 June.

ENDS