MEDIA RELEASE

12 December 2012

The Trust Company announces new judges to the 2013 Miles Franklin judging panel

Award value pool boosted by 20%

The Trust Company as Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award has unveiled the 2013 judging panel which includes two new judges, and announced an increase in the prize money to \$60,000.

The two new judges are both leading industry experts in publishing and literature. Craig Munro is a biographer, book historian and publishing editor as well as the founding chair of the Queensland Writers Centre. Susan Sheridan is Adjunct Professor in English and Women's Studies at Flinders University, Adelaide.

They will join the existing panel of Richard Neville, State Library of New South Wales, Mitchell Librarian, Murray Waldren, journalist and columnist at The Australian newspaper and Anna Low, a Sydney-based bookseller.

Simon Lewis, Head of Philanthropy and Community at The Trust Company made the announcement ahead of today's closing of applications of the 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

Recognised as Australia's most prestigious literary prize, the Miles Franklin Literary Award was established in 1954 through the Will of My Brilliant Career author Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin to encourage and support writers of Australian literature. The annual Award is presented to the novel of the year which is judged to be of the highest literary merit and "must present Australian Life in any of its phases".

"We are delighted to announce we are increasing the prize money to 60,000 - up 10,000 on 2012. This is an important national prize which continues to have relevance in today's society, and we want to ensure the legacy of Miles Franklin, and her passion in supporting

Australian literature, is experienced by as many audiences as possible across the country," Mr Lewis said.

Mr Lewis also reiterated The Trust Company's campaign for the Government to consider making the prize money tax free in line with The Prime Minister's Literary Awards, for which the winner receives \$80,000 tax free.

Commenting on the new judging panel, Chair Richard Neville said: "I am delighted to welcome Susan and Craig to the panel for 2013. They will both bring valuable perspectives and expertise to the judging panel, and I am sure they will enjoy the experience. Given its heritage and character, the Miles Franklin is absolutely the nation's most prestigious literary award."

With 60 submissions received so far, the judges will be reading all books over the Christmas break and the months beyond whittling the entrants down to a long-list to be announced in March.

"The selection of the Judges and the veracity of their adjudication process is central to the quality and reputation of the Award. As Trustee, we consider our role in promoting the legacy of Miles Franklin to be one of our most treasured responsibilities, and we look forward to working with the judges in what we expect will be an exciting 2013 Miles Franklin calendar," Mr Lewis concluded.

ENDS