

Perpetual announces longlist for prestigious Miles Franklin Literary Award

By Perpetual

23 May 2022



Perpetual, the trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, today announced twelve brilliant authors have been included on the 2022 Longlist. They will be competing for one of the most prominent literary prizes in Australia, with the winner also receiving \$60,000.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award was established by feminist, and author of *My Brilliant Career*, Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin. First presented in 1957, the Award celebrates novels of the highest literary merit that tell stories about Australian life, shining a light on some of the country's most accomplished writers.

The 2022 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist is:

Addio	Novel	i ubilatici
Michael Mohammed Ahmad	The Other Half of You	Hachette Australia
Larissa Behrendt	After Story	University of Queensland Press
Michelle de Kretser	Scary Monsters	Allen & Unwin
Jennifer Down	Bodies of Light	Text Publishing
Briohny Doyle	Echolalia	Penguin Random House
Max Easton	The Magpie Wing	Giramondo Publishing
John Hughes	The Dogs (withdrawn)	Upswell Publishing
Jennifer Mills	The Airways	Picador Australia, Pan Macmillan Australia
Alice Pung	One Hundred Days	Black Inc. Books
Claire Thomas	The Performance	Hachette Australia
Christos Tsiolkas	7 ½	Allen & Unwin
Michael Winkler	Grimmish	Puncher and Wattmann

Publisher

Novel

"This year's longlist, drawn from a robust pool of entries, reflects the thematic richness and the formal adventurousness of the contemporary Australian novel, as our writers respond to our times. Diverse in every sense, it extends from works of realism to novels in a more experimental vein, proving that the nation's story-tellers are continuing to test the boundaries of what the novel can do," said Richard Neville, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian.

The judging panel comprises Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian of the State Library of NSW and Chair; author and literary critic, Dr Bernadette Brennan; literary scholar, Dr Mridula Nath Chakraborty; book critic, Dr James Ley; and author and editor, Dr Elfie Shiosaki.

Last year, the Miles Franklin Literary Award was awarded to Amanda Lohrey for her novel, The Labyrinth (2021).

The shortlisted finalists will be revealed on 23 June 2022 and the winner announced on 20 July 2022.

Author

Join the Miles Franklin conversation

Get all the latest updates about the Miles Franklin Literary Award via social media.



Perpetual's Philanthropic Services are provided by Perpetual Trustee Company Limited (PTCo), ABN 42 000 001 007, AFSL 236643. This webpage has been prepared by PTCo and may contain information contributed by third parties. It contains general information only and is not intended to provide you with advice or take into account your personal objectives, financial situation or needs. The information is believed to be accurate at the time of compilation and is provided by PTCo in good faith. You should consider whether the information is suitable for your circumstances and we recommend that you seek professional advice. To the extent permitted by law, no liability is accepted for any loss or damage as a result of any reliance on this information. PTCo does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any wording in this document which was contributed by a third party. View the Perpetual Group's Financial Services Guide.